governor_lesmurdie_schoolThe Governor’s School STEM Awards (the Awards) were established in 2015 to recognise the support and commitment of school principals and leadership teams in developing their schools' science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education programs. In doing so, the Awards aim to raise awareness of the importance of STEM education among school leadership, and incentivise them to support their teachers in undertaking STEM initiatives. 

The Awards identify high quality outcomes and approaches in STEM subjects as well as in the way STEM teaching is integrated across learning areas.

The department extends its congratulations to all participating schools and thanks Her Excellency the Honourable Kerry Sanderson AC Governor of Western Australia for championing this initiative celebrating school achievements in STEM. More information can be found on the Government House website.

2017 Awards

Her Excellency announced the winners and runners-up of the 2017 Governor’s School STEM Awards at a ceremony at Government House on Monday 27 November 2017 and via a joint media statement with the Minister for Science Dave Kelly MLA and Minister for Education and Training Sue Ellery MLC.

Penrhos College won both the primary and secondary categories, recognised for its comprehensive and integrated STEM program as well as its growing leadership and engagement on STEM matters across the education sector.

Brookman Primary School in Langford and Warwick Senior High School were runners-up in the primary and secondary categories respectively.

The presentation ceremony was attended by representatives from all finalist schools, education leaders, the Chief Scientist of WA, the Minister for Science, and other WA Parliament Members.

More information about the award recipients and finalists, and the process undertaken for this year’s awards, is provided below.

Primary School Category

Leadership Excellence Award (winner): Penrhos College Junior School (Como) 
Penrhos2 Small
Meritorious Leadership Award (runner-up): 
Brookman Primary School (Langford)
Brookman Primary Small
Perth College Junior School (Mt Lawley)
Finalist: St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ Junior School (Karrinyup) 

Secondary Category

Leadership Excellence Award (winner): Penrhos College Secondary School (Como) 

Penrhos1 Small 

Meritorious Leadership Award (runner-up):
 Warwick Senior High School (Warwick) 

Warwick Senior High School Small 
Comet Bay College (Secret Harbour)
Finalist: Hampton Senior High School (Morley)
Finalist: St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ Senior School (Karrinyup) 

Click images to enlarge:

  • GSTEMA0126
  • GSTEMA0122
  • GSTEMA0117
  • GSTEMA0114

Application and Evaluation Process

Applications for the 2017 Governor's School STEM Awards closed on 22 August 2017 and were assessed by the judging panels in September. Finalists were announced on 29 September 2017 by her Excellency, the Minister for Science and the Minister for Education in a joint media statement

The judges visited the finalist schools in late October/early November and made their final decisions thereafter.

The 2017 Governor's School STEM Awards were launched by Her Excellency during an event at Scitech on 4 April. The event was attended by members of the education sector, industry, STEM providers and Government. The Minister for Science Dave Kelly MLA and Minister for Education and Training Sue Ellery MLC announced the opening of the awards in a joint media statement.  

A committee comprising a range of STEM education professionals supports delivery of the Awards, as do the eminent judges who volunteer their time to assist the program.

Other useful information

Examples and information about approaches to STEM being implemented in other WA schools can be found at the following links:

Also, 2016 Governor’s School STEM Awards recipients St Mary’s Anglican Girls’ Junior School, Rosalie Primary School and John Curtin College of the Arts have kindly agreed to mentor or support other schools and applicants in the Awards. Please contact the following people:


For more information about the Governor's School STEM Awards please or telephone (08) 9222 0744.

Also in this section